

COMMISSIONERS

Shannon J. Murphy Chairwoman

Marilyn R. Borja Vice-Chairwoman

Christopher A. Cruz

Robert S. Jack, MD

Margaret E.R. Tyquiengco

GUAM ETHICS COMMISSION Kumision Dinisiplina I Guåhan

RESOLUTION No. 2021 – 001

RELATIVE TO AFFIRMING THE GUAM ETHICS COMMISSION'S APPOINTMENT OF JESSE JOHN QUENGA TO SERVE AS THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

WHEREAS, the Guam Ethics Commission was re-established via Executive Order 2019-06, providing the Commission with resources to conduct its operations; and

WHEREAS, Title 4 of the Guam Code Annotated Chapter 15 §15407, provides authority for the Guam Ethics Commission to employ such persons as it deems necessary for the performance of its functions; and

WHEREAS, the Commission formally approved the Executive Director position on December 21, 2020 under Resolution No. 01, and electronically filed the position creation forms with the Department of Administration on January 5, 2021 as well as the Guam Legislature on January 8, 2021; and

WHEREAS, the Commission initiated a formal search for an Executive Director and conducted interviews during its January 26, 2021 Regular Meeting; and

WHEREAS, moving back to open session moved to select the candidate to serve as the Executive Director, an unclassified employee of the Guam Ethics Commission; now therefore be it

RESOLVED, the Commission affirms through a vote of five (5) members at a publicly announced/open meeting, its selection of Mr. Jesse John Quenga to serve as the Executive Director for the Guam Ethics Commission; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the appointment along with all powers of the Executive Director, granted by the Commission through Resolution No. 01, be extended to Mr. Jesse John Quenga effective February 1, 2021; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Commission directs its staff to prepare and submit the necessary Personnel Action Request forms reflecting the Commission's full appointment and confirmation of Mr. Jesse John Quenga to serve as Executive Director, pursuant to 4 GCA Ch. 15 §15407, and be it further

RESOLVED, that Chairperson of the Guam Ethics Commission certify and attest to the adoption hereof, and that copies of same be transmitted to the Honorable Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero, *I Maga'hågan Guåhan*, the Honorable Joshua F. Tenorio, *I Sigundu Na Maga'Låhen Guåhan*, the Honorable Therese M. Terlaje, Speaker *I Mina Trentai Sais Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*, and the Honorable Joe S. San Agustin, Senator and Chairman of the Committee on General Government Operations, Appropriations, Housing, and Office of Finance & Budget *I Mina Trentai Sais Na Liheslaturan Guåhan*.

PASSED AND ADOPTED BY THE GUAM ETHICS COMMISSION THIS 12TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2021

SHANNON J. MURPHY CHAIRWOMAN, GUAM ETHICS COMMISSION